What do you know about Victor Wooten?

Wooten playing at the Belly Up in 2006.

Wooten playing at the Belly Up in 2006.

Since the time I started rolling with my basic education of music, I grew up realizing the idea of bass, one of the many musical illustrations that I had to understand, till one day as I stumbled upon a discovery that, frankly, changed my entire concept of music. It was Victor Wooten. I think:

If treble was a sentence, bass would be the tone of speech. Sentences have something to express while the tone of speech projects that expression out with emotions. They’re both independent but only complete when with each other.

This is a personal illustration that I believe. But Wooten, apparently, has his ways around it. He has a groove that expresses just by itself. Just hear it for yourself, won’t you? [••• 1]

It’s a wonder, isn’t it?

During a question and answer session at a 1998 concert, Wooten said:

If you take a newborn baby and put them on the instrument, they’re going to get sounds out of it that I can’t get out of it, so we’re all the best.

This philosophy seems closely related to another fundamental truth about Wooten’s stated approach to experience bass and music in general. Music is a language. According to Wooten, when speaking or listening, we don’t focus on the mouth as it is forming words; similarly, when a musician is playing or performing, the focus shouldn’t be on the instrument.

Wooten jamming in an open concert.

Wooten jamming in an open concert.

So, go ahead and put him in your playlist. He made me realize that elaborating any instrument beyond its limit and putting them altogether can give you a “limitless” sound. Perhaps, you might come to feel the same. 

I won’t go on and on about his vast amount of musical achievements. You can just do it with a click by yourself. [••• 2]

About this entry